We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Higher You Climb

by Michael Ray Pfeifer

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7.99 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Buy the CD and enjoy the beautiful photos and artwork by Cori Miller. By choosing the CD you get both the disc and the digital files. (Payments are made via PayPal).

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Higher You Climb via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $7.99 USD or more 


Dirty Dog 04:09
The Rock 05:51
Gravel Road 06:36
Liliana Rose 04:01
Hotel Sadie 04:24
BTG 03:02
The Padre 05:01


Sound, noise, groove, yeah. Songwriter and dreamer.


PRESS QUOTES: “Michael Ray Pfeifer & The Nasty Notes set expectations for their music before you even hear it. Their record The Higher You Climb has the listener sifting through stories that cobbles together patches of sound to make an alt-country album out of the remains. It’s raw and will stay with you after the first listen.”
-- Youa Vang, City Pages


released January 1, 2014

Produced by Casey Smith

Recorded, engineered & mixed by Casey Smith at KnottBrite Studios
Digital mastering by Craig Holets at Bassfuzz Mastering
Art Direction & Design by Cori Miller, deFine Art Studio
Cover Art & Photos by Cori Miller Photography

Michael Ray Pfeifer – lead vocals and guitar
Casey Smith – lead guitars, bass, organ, vocals
Dale Hieb -- drums
Elliot Blaufuss -- piano & keyboards
Shane Akers -- dobro on Gravel Road
Curt Hutchens – guitar on THYC, The Rock & Gravel Road
Clinton Forry – bass guitar on Blue Jean Baby
Bobbi Miller – vocal arrangements and vocals on Hula Hoop Girls, Gravel Road, and Broke Down Love
Bec Smith – vocals on Liliana Rose, Everybody Wants You, and vocals & piano on The Higher You Climb

All Songs Written by Michael Ray Pfeifer © BMI.
Except “Liliana Rose” written by Bec Smith & Michael Ray Pfeifer


all rights reserved



Michael Ray Pfeifer Minneapolis, Minnesota

Michael Ray Pfeifer is a singer/songwriter who combines a free-wheeling brand of Americana and roots rock. Filtered through the sounds of AM radio; the music pops, lilts and sways with inspired reflection.

Pfeifer has released four albums (Juggernaut, Blind Faith, The Higher You Climb, and Fire On The Radio), as well as his latest single 'Queen of Sunshine.'
... more

contact / help

Contact Michael Ray Pfeifer

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Michael Ray Pfeifer, you may also like: